Poppy Seed Cake – page 194

Rather, Lemon Poppy Seed cake.

Straight-forward caking and baking. The only impatience was getting the rind quantity ready. I don’t have a nifty gadget, so pretty much grated it off the washed fresh lemon. The rest of the beating and combining: usual jiffy stuff. I used Wooden Spoon margarine rather than butter (only because I had the former available). I made certain that I sifted the dry ingredients twice (as per the recipe instruction).

I baked the batter across two pans, one rectangular loaf sized-pan and the other was a square pan. Perfect!

I didn’t do the final step of poking holes into the baked cake and soaking with syrup. It tasted lovely without the syrup, but am sure the addition of the lemon, sugary runny goo will be irresistable (but I wonder if the cake will be susceptible to breakage. It is a very moist cake).

Verdict: The cake is indeed really soft and definitely lovely and spongy. Better Half and I have been tucking in for the past week without boredom. He considers it a ‘fresh’ taste. I love, absolutely love the texture of the poppy seeds and admittedly the lemon/citrus spike to offset the guilt of ‘cake indulgence’. Will be made again and toppled into muffin pans, so that these beauts can be slotted into the lunch box!

This entry was posted in Baking, Treasury of SA Indian Delights. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poppy Seed Cake – page 194

  1. mydearbakes says:

    Loved your creation , so lovely! =)

Leave a comment